a helping hand

Because I’ve drawn a lot of comics myself, there’s a lot I can do to assist Josh in getting the linework done.

– like sketching in the elaborate buildings that will be in a long, overhead shot (one that Josh wasn’t looking forward to drawing).

I see my role right now to help Josh barrel through the pages, because the best work is coming when he’s moving fast. Being in the same room to answer questions, bounce ideas off, and help with gathering references or doing some art assists really cuts down on any wasted time. I hang out. Talk comics with him, play music.  I blog, I work on the lettering, we talk about the upcoming pages. Whatever’s useful.

When it moves fast and pages are turning, the whole thing’s just energizing.

-ML

Mike sketches while Don reads Umbrella Academy in the background.

This entry was posted in concept sketches, drawings, pencils. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

